#13: A piece of music that inspires me

Where shall I start?

To talk about music that inspires me would take a life time, because I don’t enjoy listening to it casually like most people do, and don’t exactly have a specific genre; I even sit down for a few hours sometimes going through my music library as if I’m watching movies or a series, or reading books.

So to choose a really special piece that I love, I’ll talk about the very first track that made me love music as much as I do now, which is “One man’s dream” by Yanni.

It was about ten years ago, at the culture center back where I live when I was first starting to learn to play the piano. I remember I was so enthusiastic that I chewed every piece that the music teacher gave me (I love that man by the way!).

One afternoon as we were ‘being creative’, one of the violinists that I’ve known there (which I’m absolutely glad I did) came to me as I was sitting at the piano and asked me if I knew Yanni, and he was quite surprised when I told him that I didn’t, so he took his phone and that was the very first time I heard Yanni’s “One man’s dream”.

As John Nash keeps saying in “A beautiful mind”, “I was petrified, stupefied, mortified” by it, and I could swear I felt the heavens for a second back then… so I asked the guy to send it to me, I went back home and kept listening to it all through the rest of the day as if I found a piece of something divine.

Well, I’m not going to talk about more of that because I’d blather about it for another hour and talk about so much more, so to be concise, music to me, as I’m sure it is to so many people around, is an essence of all that’s beautiful in this world, and it’s something that you can never explain how it does what it does, nor ever have enough of it.

“If music be the food of love, play on, Give me excess of it; that surfeiting, the appetite may sicken, and so die.” ~ William Shakespeare.

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

